Monday, December 31, 2012

Jannat 2 (2012) (Hindi)

               Director    :        Kunal Deshmukh
               Genre       :        Crime, Drama, Thriller
               Cast         :        Emraan Hashmi, Randeep Hooda and Esha Gupta

    Emran Hashmi is a bankable star and matured actor now.He has changed Hindi cinema a lot.'Jannat 2' was released in 2012.Even though the only similarity between 'Jannat' and 'Jannat 2' is that the leading actor and the makers of the movie is same.
   In 'Jannat 2' Emran Hashmi plays the role of a illegal weapon dealer in Mumbai.And Randeep Hooda plays the cop who wants to stop this whole illegal racket.Emran does a fabulous job in acting while Randeep Hooda as tough cop did good.He too is improving his acting comparing to his last movies.'Jannat' was his second genuine hit movie which was critically acclaimed.The sequel surely keeps up the expectations.There are some twists in the story.Some of them will make you smile and some of them will leave you shocked.
   So my suggestion is if you want to watch a good hindi movie which doesn't boast of the 3 khans or the kapoors watch 'Jannat 2'.It's a watchable movie and you will never feel that you have wasted your money.

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Life Of Pi (2012) (English)

               Director :  Ang Lee
               Genre    :  Adventure, Drama
               Cast      :   Suraj Sharma, Irrfan Khan and Adil Hussain

      'Life Of Pi' is a 2012 released movie which was made based on a novel of same name written by Yann Martel and published in 2001.The book is still one of the international best seller.If you read the book you will understand that it was not that easy to convert that book into a movie.
      Movie tells the story of a young man from India who survives a disaster at sea is hurtled into an epic journey of adventure. While cast away, he forms an unexpected connection with another survivor ... a fearsome Bengal tiger.You might have understood this much from the trailer itself.But the most interesting part is the amazing visuals he comes across on his adventure.What makes this movie best is it's tricky climax.It's not a suspense but it's very tricky.You should watch the movie to know about it more.Even if i tell you everything you won't feel anything because this movie friends,is a visual extravaganza.It will be the best movie which utilized visuals this much after James Cameroon's 'Avatar'.
    Movie has some amazing Computer Graphics and the Tiger in most of the part in the movie is created using Computer Imagery and is beautifully,realistically animated.They have used the real Tiger in only one or two shots.Many other animals in this movie is also created using CG.I'm really glad that Ang Lee the director of the movie didn't showed 'cow-on-almost-everywhere' and sitar music as BG score while showing India.Unlike all other so called 'talented' hollywood directors and cinematographers,he tried to show India more in a realistic way with no cliche scenes.When it comes to showing the real India in English films,even Speilberg movies sucks!.
     At the end of this review all i can say is that,don't miss this movie and don't forget to watch it in 3D.Take your whole family to the movie because it's a must watch and once in a lifetime kind of  opportunity.You should watch it in big screen.I highly recommend this.

Life Of Pi Oscar Controversy (Updated on 26/02/2013)

  Now that the movie has won three Oscars i would like to say some facts here.90% of the movie was shot in a swimming pool with blue matte.And all those beautiful scenery, Tiger and most of the other animals you see is computer generated Visual effects created by a team of very talented artists from some of the best VFx studios around the world.Since most of the surroundings are computer generated,this movie doesn't deserve an award for cinematography.It is a shame full fact that the cinematographer Claudio Miranda  shamelessly accepted the award and the directer Ang Lee thanked the pool crew in his acceptance speech and didn't even mentioned once about the Vfx artists.Without Vfx Life of Pi would have never happened.When the Vfx team was giving the acceptance speech they were interrupted by music and were shooed away.This is a black mark in the history of Academy awards/Oscar.
Some of the Vfx is shown in below video.Sorry i had to post this if you haven't watched the movie yet.I will suggest to make a bookmark of this page and go watch the movie,then watch the VFx reel.So that it won't ruin your movie watching experience.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

ParaNorman (2012) (English)

            Directors : Chris Butler, Sam Fell
            Genre     : Adventure, Comedy, Animation
            Cast       : Kodi Smit-McPhee,Tucker Albrizzi, and Anna Kendrick.

     Let me tell you one thing before i review the movie.If 'ParaNorman' Is not winning this year's Oscar for 'best animated feature film',you can assure that the Oscar Awards are fixed or rigged(or whatever word you would like to use).'ParaNorman' is a 2012 released animation feature film with almost every part shot in stop-motion animation (Google it if you don't know what it is,just don't ignore the meaning),with some Computer Graphics added.
    The story of the movie is about a boy named Norman who has a 'freaky' power.He can talk to dead people,means he can see ghosts and he can talk to them.But with this great power comes a great responsibility.He has to stop something which will affect the entire town.I know you might have thought it's a Zombie invasion,but it's not.And i'm not gonna spoil your movie watching fun by telling what it is.Watch the movie to find out what happens.
    This movie is unbelievably awesome.It's animation,visual effects and lighting are so perfect that you will never feel that you are watching a stop-motion movie.It's like watching a 3D animated movie.Voice cast is really brilliant and they did an awesome job.Apart from the above mentioned names,the cast includes  Christopher Mintz-Plasse,Leslie Mann and Jeff Garlin.
   It's a must watch movie for any movie lover,but before you decide it's a 'kiddy cartoon movie',i would like to tell you that Parental guidance is recommended for kids to watch this movie.I really won't recommend this to kids are too young.Any adults and teenagers and kids a little younger than teenage can watch this movie.Though i would recommend explaining the word 'Zombie' to your kid before he or she watch this.And make sure the kid understands zombies are fictional characters.

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Total Recall (2012) (English)

                 Director         : Len Wiseman
                 Genre            :  Adventure, Action, Thriller, Sci-Fi
                 Cast             :  Colin Farrell,Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel

      Hello everyone.I'm watching less movies nowadays that's why the number of reviews per month got reduced.So this time i'm gonna talk about 'Total Recall'.No,it's not that old Arnold one.It's the 2012 version of it.Much much advanced version in visualization,story and CGI .
   This is the story of  a factory worker, Douglas Quaid, who begins to suspect that he is a spy after visiting Rekall(yup,that's the spelling!), a company that provides its clients with implanted fake memories to experience the life they want.Will he find the truth?.Go watch the movie to know more.
    'Total Recall' was a total surprise for me.It has amazing visualizations since the story happens in a distant future.Cars,buildings,machines,phones everything is beautifully futuristic with a pinch of present day feelings.From the first scene to last scene,movie is a chase,that too a thrilling one.You will eagerly wait to see what will happen at the next scene.Collin Farrell as Douglas Quaid reminds me of Emran Hashmi(An Indian actor who works in Hindi movies) in many scenes of the movie.His acting style,body language and the guy-with-a-jacket looks everything will reminds you of Emran Hashmi if you have seen any of Emran's movies.So in short it's a must watch movie and i will happily recommend this movie for every movie lover.

Friday, November 2, 2012

Skyfall (2012) (English)

        Director  : Sam Mendes
        Genre     :   Action,Adventure,Drama,Crime
        Cast       :   Daniel Craig,Judi Dench,Javier Bardem and Naomie Harris

     SkyFall is the 23rd film in James Bond series and Daniel Craig's third movie as the 007.I really don't know how to start this review.With all respect to Daniel Craig, i didn't liked him as the most famous British secret agent at first.When i saw the news that Daniel Craig is replacing one of my favorite Bond actor Pierce Brosnan, i was shocked.Because even though Craig is a damn good actor, he didn't had any qualities or traditional Bond looks which previous actors had.But then i didn't knew the makers of the Bond movie series had something else in mind.They were re-creating the James Bond image step by step, or let me say... 'movie by movie'.
    You might have got a rough idea of the story line from trailers by now.If not, let me try my best to tell you it without any spoilers.Bond's loyalty to his boss M is tested as her past comes back to haunt her. As MI6 comes under serious attack, Bond must track down and destroy the threat, no matter how personal the cost is.
   Let me tell you first, it's a must watch movie for every Bond fan,even if you don't like Mr.Craig as Bond.Because this is not only his best Bond movie,it's one of the best movie in his career.Judi Dench has been an integral part of bond movies,but her role was just to assign him on the mission till the last movie she appeared as 'M'.But in Sky Fall she actually got a meaty role.In Sky Fall,from Adele's title song to the climax stunts,everything is perfect and awesome.There are some surprises, some good and some bad.There is a slight pinch of drama thrown in.And probably first time in the history of James Bond movies,you will see Agent 007 crying.Trust me when i say this,you have never seen a Bond movie like this before.Daniel Craig has already signed two more James Bond movies with the production house after 'Sky Fall'.So my final word is Don't miss Sky Fall.

   PS : For the train stunt which you have seen in trailers,movie makers first chose the location as India.But the scene was a bit different.It had Bond riding on a bike on the top of a moving train which will have full of passengers on the roof top of the train!!!.Indian Railways didn't gave permission for the shoot because in INDIA no one travels on the roof top of a train.I'm glad that they turned it down.Because hollywood have no f***ing idea how countries outside America is.

Monday, October 29, 2012

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow (2004) (English)

               Director   : Kerry Conran
               Genre      : Action,Adventure,Mystery, Sci-Fi
               Cast        : Gwyneth Paltrow, Jude Law and Angelina Jolie

      What do you expect from a movie when it has got some of the best star-actors of hollywood cinema?.Well that's exactly what you get,a good thrilling entertainer.What made me force to watch this movie was actually two actors who played two of my favorite characters-Pepper potts(Gwyneth Paltrow) of IronMan Series and Mr.Watson(Jude Law) of Sherlock Holmes series-coming together in a movie.Another coincidence is both the actors played secondary characters to a character played by Robert Downey Jr.(Sherlock Homes and Iron Man).
        So let's get into the plot,It's the story of a reporter who teams up with a pilot in search of the origin of flying robots which keep attacking the New York city.The reporter's role is played by beautiful and charming Gwyneth Paltrow.And the fearless pilot who fights the bots is played by Jude Law.And Angelina Jolie has done a brief important cameo appearance in the movie.
       I don't know what kept this movie away from popular movie channels.I haven't seen this movie in Television and never heard of it before i actually found it from an IMDB page featuring Jude Law's movies.May be it's name which is unnecessarily long(Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow),or may be the total style and look given to the movie which in some parts make the CG looks like low grade.But i should say for a movie which is released in 2004,CG is at it's best here.If you are regular movie watcher or a die-hard movie lover,you should never miss this movie.It's a must watch.Because this movie is unique.You will never find another one like this.So don't miss it.

Friday, October 26, 2012

Underground (1995) (Serbian | German | French | English | Russian)

           Director: Emir Kusturica
           Genre   : Drama, Comedy, War
           Cast     :  Miki Manojlovic, Lazar Ristovski and Mirjana Jokovic

      This movie is one of the best movie ever made.And one of the best foreign movies i have ever watched.Movie was released in 1995 mainly in Serbian language.This award winning movie has dialogues in German and English too.It is also known by the subtitle 'Once Upon a Time There Was a Country'.
      The film uses the epic story of two friends to portray and satirize the history of Yugoslavia since the Second World War.The plot is presented through three parts: War, Cold War, and War.One of the friend who a black marketeer who smuggles the weapons to partisans doesn't mention to the workers that the war is over, and they keep producing it underground.You should watch the movie to know what happens after that.
   The theatrical version is 163 minutes long.But inn interviews, director Kusturica stated that his original version ran for over 320 minutes, and that he was forced to cut it by co-producers.This is a must watch movie for every movie lover.So don't miss it.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Ice Age: Continental Drift (2012) (English)

                    Directors        :  Steve Martino, Mike Thurmeier
                    Genre            : Adventure, Animation, Comedy
                 Voice Cast     :   Ray Romano, Denis Leary and John Leguizamo.

     If you haven't heard of Ice Age movie franchises you must be someone who lives under a rock or something.Ice Age : Continental Drift is the 4th installment of the movie series which released this year(2012) and went on to be a box office success like it's earlier parts.
     You might have seen the trailer of the movie by now which portrays the famous character Scrat's another set of struggles.And you might have understood that his struggles becomes the reason for some land drift.This effects the lives of our sabertooth tiger Diego,sloth(Sid), and the woolly mammoth Manny very badly.When they tries to solve the problems in their lives,the bad guys enters.That's what all i can reveal without spoiling the fun.
    Ice Age:Continental Drift is a must watch movie for people of all ages.This is a 100% entertainer, value for money movie.It has the best character animation I've seen recently.You will love this movie as well as your kids if you have watched the first 3 parts.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Crazy, Stupid, Love. (2011) (English)

                  Directors: John Requa, Glenn Ficarra
                  Genre    : Romance, Comedy, Drama
                  Cast      : Steve Carell, Ryan Gosling and Julianne Moore
      There are sweet love stories,weird love stories,crazy love stories...and many more type of love stories.Categorizing those stories is completely your choice.But the love stories showed in 'Crazy, Stupid, Love' are really interesting.
      You might be familiar with this kind of story telling by now.A bunch of couples having love affairs.Some of them are good,some of them are bad.But what makes this movie different from all those other movies like 'Love Actually' is,in this movie, there are crazy,stupid and unconventional love stories.I am not sure how many of you will enjoy it,but i really liked it.It's worth a watch people.And yes,obviously there are scenes which may not be suitable for minors.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Julie & Julia (2009) (English)

Director : Nora Ephron
Genre    : Drama,Romance and cooking(i just decided it can be a Genre).
Cast     : Amy Adams, Meryl Streep,Stanley Tucci and Chris Messina.

      I was not writing so many reviews lately because even though i was watching movies,none of them interested me to write a review about it.Then i decided to search for movies which has themes which interests me.Cooking is one of them.That's how i stumbled upon 2 movies.I'm going to review one of them today.And this time i decided to go with two posters because i loved these cheerfully positive looking colorful posters so much.
         First let me tell you this,it's NOT A CHICK-FLICK.This movie is based on two real life persons,yes they actually existed.It's the story of Julie Powell who gets inspired by-one of the best cook ever lived-Julia Child, takes a decision which changes her life forever.And ladies,if you are going through a dull part of your life, this is the movie you should watch.It's a must watch movie for you.Actually,not for any specific person,it's for everyone.
     I haven't seen any movie in which Meryl Streep acted before.Now i know why she got nominated so many times for academy awards.Because she is the best.She adapted the whole body language and accent of the real life Julia Child and she has played the character so convincingly!!.Amy Adams plays the role of Julie Powell,and she is good at it.While talking about actors and their roles,you should not avoid the perfect casting in the movie.I mean who else can you possibly think to play the Meryl Streep's character's sister-role other than Jane Lynch?.Even Stanley Tucci and Chris Messina did awesome works.So people,it's a must watch movie.It's not a boring autobiographical drama like many other movies of same genre out there.

Note: I think it's high time for IMDB to think of creating of a genre called 'Cooking' or 'Food'.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Cheung Gong 7 hou (2008) (Chinese: Cantonese)

          Director : Stephen Chow
         Genre     : Fantasy, Family, Comedy
         Cast       :  Stephen Chow, Kitty Zhang Yuqi and Jiao Xu

     'Cheung Gong 7 hou' is a Chinese fantasy movie released in 2008.It's English version is titled as 'CJ7'.It was written and directed by Stephen Chow.He even acted as one of the main characters in the movie.
         It will not come under Sci-Fi genre like usual extra terrestrial movies.It is more of a fantasy children movie.'Dicky'(Jiao Xu) and his father lives in very poor conditions and his father struggles very much while bringing up his son.At the same time his son gets bullied by some other kids in his school.That's when he gets a new friend.Will the new friend change his life forever?,or Will he has to look after his new friend?.Watch the movie to know more.
       This movie was basically made for kids.But any adult can enjoy this movie because they were also kid once.It's good movie to watch it with your kids if you are a parent.This movie is worth a watch.It's simple and beautiful.It's visual effects are really good at places and sometimes you might notice amateurishness.The story is simple and anyone can emotionally relate to it.So don't forget to watch it.You might get English dubbed versions or subtitled versions in internet(if you don't understand Chinese).

Monday, August 20, 2012

The Dark Knight Rises (2012) (English)

                 Director : Christopher Nolan
                 Genre    : Action, Drama, Crime
                 Cast      : Christian Bale, Tom Hardy and Anne Hathaway

     I was not a big fan of Batman character earlier,because i felt all the movies and cartoons were too dark for me with less fun.But when i watched Batman Begins(2005),when i saw the scene where batman lifts a bad guy and answers him in his rough voice "I'm Batman...",i knew i already fell in love with the character.The Dark Knight Rises is the third installment in the Christopher Nolan directed Christian Bale starring series.They said it is the last movie of Christian Bale as the batman and last batman movie directed my Christopher Nolan.
     I have watched this movie 2 weeks back and i didn't had the courage to write a review without giving away the plot points.But if i don't write about it some of you at least may not come to know the  value of this movie.Let me tell you this first itself,it's a must watch movie.And if you haven't seen the first two parts,you must watch them too.
    Story starts where The Dark Knight(2008) finished.Bruce Wayne/Batman has gone underground because his own city-which once admired him-now says he is the bad guy.He has stopped giving public appearances and lost interest in his business empire.Crime rate of Gotham city is at an all time low.That's when the new villain appears.Bane.Most dangerous villain batman ever faced in these three movies.Can Bruce do anything to stop the crime?.Despite the injuries will he able to be the good old batman who fought with criminals? Or he will be just a shadow of it fail miserably?.This is a movie with full of twists and it is a must watch movie.
     This movie is filled with brilliantly planned dramatic scenes with jaw-dropping visuals.Especially watch out for scene where Batpod(Batman's Bike) skids across the road.I can assure you,you have never seen anything like that before.Watch till the last second.And one more thing,when you watch the climax i'm sure it will be completely different from what you thought.If you don't watch this movie,you will miss one of the best movie ever made.I cant end this review without talking about contributions of Hans Zimmer, Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine.When Hans Zimmer did what he does best-Creating a background score which make you emote through out the movie-Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine reprises their roles as Mr.Fox and Alfred respectively.Both characters have more importance in this movie than the previous movies.And no one else can play those roles so perfectly than Freeman or Michael Caine.

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Battleship (2012) (English)

      Director : Peter Berg
      Genre    : Action, Sci-Fi
      Cast      :  Alexander Skarsgård, Brooklyn Decker and Rihanna 

      Battleship(2012) was made based on a Milton Bradley game "Battleship" that has been manufactured since 1931.It is directed by Peter Berg who is well known for 'Hancock' movie.
      I seriously have no idea what were they thinking while making this movie.This movie is a waste of money,waste of time,waste of awesome quality Visual effects,waste of one good plot line and obviously they have wasted Liam Neeson's acting talent too.Story is like any other alien related movies.They attack and we defend.But what makes this movie a failure is the lack of a proper script.Even though Liam Neeson's name is there in the movie credits(and you might have seen him in trailers),his screen time is hardly 15 minutes.They have used his star value in trailers to attract more viewers.
     Visual effects in this movie is ultimate.I think Transformers movie brought in  a revolution in Vfx concepts of hollywood.Director have used real life retired military persons for some key parts of the movie.Once you watch the movie,you will be thinking what the heck was director actually doing when the crew shot for the movie and the editor edited it.!!!.My advice,avoid this movie if you want to watch a good movie.You can watch this only if you want to see a Vfx show reel of some Vfx studio.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Bacheha-Ye aseman (1997) (Iranian)

  Director   : Majid Majidi
  Genre      :  Family, Drama, Adventure
  Cast        : Amir Farrokh Hashemian,Bahare Seddiqi & Mohammad Amir Naji

           'Bacheha-Ye aseman' or 'Children of Heaven' (in English) is an Iranian movie released in 1997.This was the first Iranian film to receive nomination for an academy award(In best foreign language movie category).
           Children of heaven is the story of a brother and sister named Ali and Zahra who lives in Tehran.The movie starts when Ali is coming back from a shoemaker after repairing his sister's pair of pink shoes.But when he was purchasing some vegetables,the unexpected thing happens.How this incident change their life? How will his sister react to this?.If you want to know more,watch this movie today itself.
           Many scenes of the movie was shot secretly to keep the realism in the scenes.The kids who played the roles of Ali(Amir Farrokh Hashemian) and Zahra(Bahare Seddiqi) were so expressive and i really loved their acting.I could really feel how i will react if i was at that situation.This movie is a must watch movie for every movie buff.And this is one of the most naturally shot movies i have seen.I strongly recommend this movie to all.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Arthur (2011) (English)

          Director   : Jason Winer
          Genre      : Comedy, Romance
          Cast        :  Russell Brand, Helen Mirren,Jennifer Garner &Greta Gerwig

         'Arthur' is a 2011 remake of a 1981 film of same title.In simple words you can say 'Arthur' is a grown up version of 'Richie Rich'.For the 1981 movie,there was a sequel too.But they didn't made one for this version yet.
        'Arthur' says the story of a rich immature playboy drunkard who stands to lose all his wealth when he fall in love with a woman his mother doesn't like.Will he able to marry her?Or will he choose the wealth instead?
        Russel Brand plays the title character in this movie and some of his dialogues are damn hilarious.Helen Mirren plays the role of his nanny in this movie.I loved this movie because of two reasons.One, it kind of fulfills every grown up man's fantasies when he was a kid.Two, i really loved the affection between arthur and his nanny character.She is like his own mother in the movie.I will recommend this movie as a must watch if you haven't seen the 1981 version.Now, there might be people who loved the old movie and they might say this is nothing comparable to the old one.But i haven't seen it.So i felt this one as the best one.So this is a must watch.You will love arthur.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Le Ballon rouge(1956) (French)

               Director     : Albert Lamorisse
              Genre        :  Drama, Short film
              Cast          :  Pascal Lamorisse, Sabine Lamorisse &Georges Sellier

         'Le Ballon rouge'('The Red Balloon' in English) is French Feature directed by Albert Lamorisse and was released in 1956 .
    The story of this film is of a red balloon which has a life of its own and it follows a little boy around the streets of Paris.I cant reveal more than this.
     Now let me explain how beautiful this movie is even after being made at a time where computer generated graphics were unknown.They have used many beautiful tricks to control the balloon in the scene.And they have done a beautiful job.This movie inspired many film makers from all over the world and many versions were made around the world.The Red balloon won the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay, even though it has little dialogue.Pascal Lamorisse who played the role of little boy did a good job as the little boy.With its Oscar win for Best Original Screenplay, the film became (as of 2007) the only short film to win an Academy Award outside of the short film categories.This film had one of the largest non-theatrical runs in the history of American cinema.Thousands of 16-millimeter prints were distributed to schools across United States of America. This is one of the best short film i have ever seen and it is a must watch.

Monday, July 9, 2012

Fa yeung nin wa (2000) (Chinese:Cantonese, Shanghainese)

                                               Director   :   Kar Wai Wong
                                               Genre      :   Romance, Drama
                                               Cast         : Tony Leung Chiu Wai, Maggie Cheung&Ping Lam Siu.

       'Fa yeung nin wa' ('In the Mood for Love' in English) is a 2000 released Chinese romantic drama directed by Kar Wai Wong.
       It has a very interesting style of plot presentation,and at the same time, in some parts movies pace becomes too slow.The story of this movie talks mainly about two characters.A man named Chow Mo-wan(Tony Leung Chiu Wai) and a woman named Su Li-zhen/Mrs. Chan(Maggie Cheung) who are neighbors and married to their respective spouses.They move in to neighboring Hong Kong apartments and after certain time they both suspect their spouses of extra-marital activities.Are they right or just misunderstanding their life partners??..
       The main beauty of this movie is it's cinematography.If you are interested in cinematography,you should watch this movie to see how beautifully makers of this movie have used colors in this movie.Background score is another plus point of this movie.And yes ladies might love this movie for Mrs.Chan's beautiful dresses with floral prints.This movie has won several awards and was nominated for BAFTA film award.I won't say its a must watch or woth watching.You can watch this only if you are interested in the plot line or the beautiful looking Maggie Cheung.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Pretty Woman (1990)(English)

                  Director           :  Garry Marshall
                  Genre              :  Romance, Drama
                  Cast                :  Richard Gere, Julia Roberts,Hector Elizondo

              If you have been watching a lot of  English romantic movies,you might have seen this movie.If not,you are ignoring one of the most beautiful romantic movie ever made.Its a 'movie you should watch before you die' kind of movie.
             Story goes like this,Edward Lewis(Richard Gere ) a rich man who does some legal but hurtful business.He meets a beautiful prostitute named Vivian Ward(Julia Roberts) and hires her as his escort for some social events.What happens later? and How?..Watch this beautiful romantic drama as soon as possible.
            This movie was Julia Roberts' first step to super-stardom.Since then media and fans affectionately  calls her as 'Pretty Woman'.No doubt, by all means she deserves that title.She is so adorable and gave a beautiful performance in this movie.After this movie she never had to look back.Its one of the must watch movies ever made.Never ever ever ever miss this one.Trust me you will love this movie if you didn't watched it yet..


Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Psycho (1960) (English)

                             Director   :       Alfred Hitchcock
                             Genre      :       Thriller, Mystery, Horror
                             Cast        :      Anthony Perkins, Janet Leigh and Vera Miles.

           'Psycho' is an Alfred Hitchcock movie.Now that sentence says almost everything about the movie.It simply means it is a sure shot entertaining thriller.
       'Psycho' tells the story of a woman who steals 40000$ from her employer and while running away she comes across a motel whose proprietor is a young guy who was too long under the nomination of his mother.Actually knowing this much of the story will never help you to guess the fully thrilling plot.So watch this awesome thriller to know more about the plot.
     'Psycho' is a milestone or landmark movie in the history of Hollywood cinema.In 2007, the American Film Institute ranked this movie as the #14 Greatest Movie of All Time.The movie's caption line "A boy's best friend is his mother" was voted as the #56 movie quote by the American Film Institute (out of 100).This movie ranked #1 on the AFI 100 Years... 100 Thrills film series.This was Hitchcock's last black and white feature film,filmed November 30 1959-March 1 1960.One of the main reasons Alfred Hitchcock shot the movie in black and white was he thought it would be too gory in color.The film only cost US$800,000 to make and has earned more than US$40 million.In short it's a must watch movie.I strongly recommend this thriller for all of you.


Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Ponyo (2008) (Japanese)

                                 Director: Hayao Miyazaki
                                Genre    : 2D Animation,Fantasy,Adventure,Family
                                Cast      : Yuria Nara,Hiroki Doi and Kazushige Nagashima

            Ponyo is a 2008 released Japanese animated fantasy movie.It is written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki of Studio Ghibli.It is his 10th film and each movie is like a masterpiece.
            The story is about a goldfish princess named Ponyo who befriends a five-year-old human boy, Sōsuke, and  she wants to become a human girl.I cant explain you more than this because i might be writing spoilers.Only thing i can say is if you love animation movies,you are gonna have an awesome time watching this animated adventure.
             Usually i don't like movies which has fantasy stories,i have seen only a few number of them.But this one struck me like a lightning.The work those animators did for this movie is unbelievably wonderful.The usual minus points you hear about Japanese animation movies are they have less details,more animation cycles etc.But this one has enormous amount of details in BG and animations.Especially dynamics part is perfect which is hard to achieve in 2D animations.This is a must watch movie not only for animators but for others too.Kids will love this movie for sure.


Friday, June 8, 2012

Madagascar 3-Europe's Most Wanted(2012) (English)

                        Directors :  Eric Darnell, Tom McGrath and Conrad Vernon
                        Genre : 3D Animation , Adventure, Comedy
                        Cast  : Ben Stiller,Chris Rock,David Schwimmer and Jada Pinkett Smith 

      Madagascar3 -Europe's Most wanted is the third movie in the Madagascar Series.If you have seen the first two parts of this movie series,your expectations will be super high.And i would love to tell you that you wont be disappointed at all.
          In this movie,the animals Alex,Marty,Melman and Gloria continues their trip to reach New York,home sweet home.And this time when the penguins(Skipper & Team) are helpless they had to take the help from some Circus animals.Will they reach there?.Or will they be able to be just zoo animals after all these 3 movies full of adventures??..Watch the movie to know the rest.
           When every new animation movie comes out,world animation industry is getting better and better.This fun filled adventure journey movie is no different.Quality of the work the people behind the scenes put into the movie is awesome.And some credit of the story telling of this movie must go to Hans Zimmer(Same guy who did music for Sherlock Holmes movies) the guy who did the awesome background score.Without those songs and music,i don't think the movie would've felt  better.It's a must watch for loyal fans of Madagascar series.If you didn't watched the first two movies,you better watch them first then watch this.
          And a last word to those reviewers who has written that movie is not up to the mark,i'm extremely sorry that you don't know how to watch and review an animation movie.

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

American Gangster (2007) (English)

                        Director : Ridley Scott
                        Genre    : Drama, Crime, Biographical
                        Cast       :  Denzel Washington, Russell Crowe & others

           American Gangster is a 2007 released biographical crime-drama film directed by none other than Ridley Scott.It says the story of Frank Lucas, a heroin kingpin from Manhattan who smuggles drugs using US military planes at the time of Vietnam war from far east without the help of middle men and directly from the source.
       Denzel Washington plays the role of Frank Lucas and presents a power packed performance.You will literally feel the screen presence every time the character comes on the screen.Russel Crowe has the role of detective Richie Roberts who tries to hunt down Frank's drug empire.
      Director definitely did some changes in the movie the story from the real life Frank Lucas' story just to add some drama to it.But still it's an awesome story.Its entertaining as a classic gangster film.The movie has two bigger-than-life characters played by two of the best actors of hollywood.Denzel Washington and Russel Crowe.Even though Frank Lucas is a drug smuggling gangster,you will have a feeling that this is a good guy.If you liked Godfather,you will definitely love this.If you didn't watched Godfather,this movie is a must watch.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies (2006) (French)

                                         Director: Michel Hazanavicius
                                         Genre   : Action, Adventure, Comedy
                                         Cast     : Jean Dujardin, Bérénice Bejo, Aure Atika and Richard Sammel

      First of all sorry for being irregular in last month.I was busy with something else.And i had to wait till i watch a movie which is worth reviewing.And here i am with OSS 117.
       'OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies' is a French movie released in 2006.Its actually a parady on spy film genre especially of James Bond films starring Sean conory .In this movie Jean Dujardin(2011 Oscar awards best actor-'The artist' fame ) acts as a French spy who thinks himself smart.But in actual he always makes mistakes and sometimes get it right.Unlike Johny EnglishOSS117 is more stylish not a super fool.Both are completely different.You have to watch it to understand yourself.It will take sometime to understand the humor if you are not French,but its good .
           Director showed how funny a cliche scene can be if it is lengthened by 10 more seconds or by adding a small bit of dialogue or awkwardness.Jean Dujardin is at his best as OSS117.Its like this character was born for him.It's a must watch if you have watched James Bond movies.(By Bond movies,i didn't meant the Daniel Craig ones,i was talking about the real James Bond movies- from Sean Conory to Pierce Brosnan).

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Taken (2008) (English)

                                 Director: Pierre Morel
                                 Genre  : Action,Thriller, Drama
                                 Cast    :  Liam Neeson, Maggie Grace and Famke Janssen

                    'Taken' is a French thriller film in English language directed by Pierre Morel.It was later released in US with some scenes edited out to get a PG-13 rating.
             'Taken' is a story of a retired and divorced CIA agent, who travels across Europe and relies on his old but perfect skills to save his estranged teenager daughter, who was kidnapped when she was on a trip to Paris with her friend.Will he able to find her without the help of govt. officials?..Or will he able to get back with his family like old times?..Watch the amazing magic of thriller cinema to know more.
         Liam Neeson plays the role of CIA agent Bryan Mills our protagonist.It is one of the best characters he ever played in his entire career.This movie made his stardom shine more in the celebrity world.This is one movie which i can watch it more than a million times.It has some awesome dialogues,and in Liam's rough voice they sound more awesome.Here is a sample...
"I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you."

So if you are a fan of action thrillers you must watch this movie.And if you are not,then also you must watch this movie.


First DVD is the version which was released in US and the second one is an extended cut.Buy from Amazon and get great discounts.

Monday, May 21, 2012

27 Dresses (2008) (English)

                                      Director   : Anne Fletcher
                                      Genre      : Romance, Comedy
                                     Cast        : Katherine Heigl, James Marsden and Malin Akerman

              '27 Dresses' is a 2008 romantic comedy directed by Anne Fletcher.I don't know why(may be because i like Katherine Heigl),i really love this movie.
           It says the story of Jane Nichols (Katherine Heigl) who served as bridesmaid 27 times and next is her  younger sister's wedding.But her sister is getting married to a man Jane is secretly in love with.You might think i have told you the whole story of it,well it is not exactly like that.Once you watch the movie,you will understand it.
          Katherine Heigl as a 'young-women-in-a-confused-and-worried-state' acted her role beautifully.Its a simple movie and if you like to watch romantic comedies,it's a must watch.I always like to watch this.


Sunday, May 13, 2012

The Avengers (2012) (English)

                 Director  :   Joss Whedon
                              Genre     :   Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi
                              Cast         :   Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans,Mark Ruffalo,Chris Hemsworth,
                                                 Jeremy Renner,Scarlett Johansson and Tom Hiddleston

                   I really have no idea where to start..!!.This movie is the ultimate celebration of CGI.This movie is worth of  every single penny you spend on it and you should watch it in 3D.
           Before you watch 'The Avengers'(2012), if you have watched the first two movies of Iron man series(2008&2010),Captain America(2011) and Thor(2011) , it will really help you to understand the main characters of the story.In 'The Avengers', Nick Fury, director of the peacekeeping organization S.H.I.E.L.D., recruits Iron Man, Captain America, the Hulk, Black Widow and Thor to form a team that must stop Thor's brother Loki from enslaving the human race.Then the protectors starts their job.
             There is not much to explain about the movie apart from the word 'A-W-E-S-O-M-E'. The best part i liked about the movie is the subtle humor which is added in almost all the scenes.That is what makes this movie different from 'Transformers series' or similar full fledged CGI action movies.And just like all previous MARVEL character's movies, this one too have an important 'after the end credit scene' which will give you a hint about the 'Avengers-2' plot.
           It's a must watch movie and best summer movie to watch.Show it to your kids,watch it yourself.It's an ultimate entertainer. 


Sunday, May 6, 2012

Arthur Christmas (2011) (English)

                          Directors: Sarah Smith, Barry Cook
                          Genre    : Family,Animation,Comedy(Suppose to be)
                          Cast      : James McAvoy, Jim Broadbent and Bill Nighy

          From the moment i saw the teaser of 'Arthur Christmas',i wanted to watch the movie because of the interesting concept.So i was waiting to watch it.And i watched it yesterday.Take this review as a warning.
        'Arthur Christmas' tells the story of Arthur,the son of the Santa Claus.And showed it how Santa actually delivers millions of gifts all over the world in every single christmas night without a failure.Santa lives with his family in North pole and things his younger son Arthur is good for nothing,but when he fails Arthur and grandpa santa goes out to solve that issue.
         Now this story and concept looks awesome and interesting when you read it in an article or as a synopsis.But in real it's one of the most boring animation movie i have ever seen in my life.I couldn't believe Sony pictures who came up with 'Cloudy with the chance of meatballs' came up with something like this.It's not entertaining,not even for a second.It won't make you think what will happen next.It will only make you think,when is this going to be over?.An amazing concept with a ruined screenplay.

So my verdict is 'watch it at your own risk'.I don't really think children will like it either.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...