Tuesday, October 29, 2013

The Internship (2013) (English)

                                                Director     :  Shawn Levy
                                                Genre        :  Comedy and a pinch of Drama.
                                                Cast          :  Vince Vaughn, Owen Wilson and Rose Byrne.

       Even though i like Owen Wilson,i always doubted to watch his movies because they seems a bit slow to me.One of the rare movie which i didn't felt like that was 'Wedding Crashers'.It was a box office success too.So when the same lead pair comes together one more time,the expectations will be high.Let's check if they could fulfill the moviegoers wish.
        Two salesmen who lost their job because digital age is catching upon everybody's life looks for an intership in the biggest tech giant  in the world.Google.How will they cop up with the new young generation and their fast life??..Will they succeed in their journey towards better life?..Will they able to complete the google challenge?.Well, watch the movie to know that.
      I'm sure the story writer might have thought how to put these funny duos back to college life in a more convincing way.Because 'old-people-back-to-college' story has been told many times.And they did succeed by putting these awesome actors in the shoes of two people who are too old for the new technology.It is really a feel good movie and i loved it.It is definitely worth a watch and undoubtedly one of the best movie for both actors.There a briefly detailed scene in a strip club with a lot of nudity and if you watch a censored version you may not understand the flow of the story.I mean the scene is an important part of the story.As support cast Dylan O'Brien,Josh Brener,Tobit Raphael and the gorgeous Tiya Sircar(man i love her!) plays important parts of the story. So what are you waiting for.Go watch the movie now.Buy an unrated copy or a censored one from Amazon.com now for the cheapest prize.


Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Monsters University (2013) (English)

                                                Director   :  Dan Scanlon.
                                                Genre       : Animation, Adventure, Comedy.
                                                Cast         :  Billy Crystal, John Goodman and Steve Buscemi.

         There was a time when people use to watch Pixar movies without any worries.Because they knew the movie was gonna be different than anything they have seen and they knew they can expect the best.But today the situation is changed.Thanks to Disney.People thinks that there is not much difference between a new Pixar animated movie and any other animated movie.Disney's marketing people and some studio heads ruined Pixar movies.They made movies by thinking about the profit they can make out of it.They didn't gave $#!% about creativity.Do you know 'Cars 2' was made only to make money from merchandise like toys and other stuff??..Do you know 'Brave' was the first 'princess-movie' Pixar ever made.You know why?.Because it's more of disney and less of Pixar now.And both the above movies sunk deep in box office.Now let's talk about 'Monsters University'.It is a prequel to Pixar's superhit movie 'Monsters, Inc.'. Obviously expectations were huge.And did it delivered?.Let us check.

      'Monsters University' talks about the story Mike and Sullivan when they were not really best friends and when they first met in the university of monsters.Well, that's about it.To know what is the twists and turns in the story,you should really watch the movie .
     My expectations were really high because i know after burning their hands on Cars 2, i knew Pixar will take their next step very carefully.This movie is a fun filled adventure ride.And it is something you should never miss if you have watched the Monsters Inc.This is really a must watch movie if you are a good old Pixar fan.This will full fill your every needs from a Pixar movie.This is the best Pixar animated movie after Toy Story 3 came out.So what are you waiting for?. Go watch the movie today.No matter what your age is,you will love this movie.

Sunday, October 13, 2013

The Heat (2013) (English)

                                               Director : Paul Feig
                                               Genre    : Action, Comedy, Crime
                                               Cast      :  Sandra Bullock,Melissa McCarthy and  Michael McDonald.

           'The Heat' is a 2013 released movie directed by Paul Feig who also directed the super hit movie 'Bridesmaids'.As far as i know 'The Heat' the only third female-buddy-cop-movie made in Hollywood.And i chose the illustrated-looking-poster(above) of this movie to put here because it is the best poster i could find.Now lets get into our review without spoilers.
            This is the story of an uptight FBI special agent(Sandra Bullock) who always do her work without any partners and now is forced to work with a foul-mouthed Boston cop(Melissa McCarthy) to take down a ruthless drug lord.Will they succeed?..Is the foul-mouthed cop really a cop?..Is the FBI agent really works for FBI?..Well, you have to watch the movie to know that.
           I watched this movie because i was impressed by it's trailer and i know Melissa McCarthy is a rising star.Talking about performances,Sandra Bullock as the matured stubborn FBI agent Sarah Ashburn and Melissa McCarthy as officer Shannon Mullins rocks in this movie.If you liked Melissa McCarthy in 'Bridesmaids' and 'Identity Theft',you will love her in this one too.The movie has a different type of sense of humor.There are tongue-in-cheek (watch out for this one) moments and there are hilarious ones.It also has a pinch of emotion and action thrown in.In my suggestion, it is worth a watch.This is a light comedy movie which you can enjoy watching it with your friends and have a good time.As i have already mentioned in the first paragraph,it is just the third female-buddy cop-movie ever produced by hollywood.And it is the only movie in those three which was successful.That might be the reason, the makers already announced a sequel which might have a release date on 2014 or 2015.You can find the unrated version of 'The Heathere or you can watch it online here.

Thursday, October 10, 2013

The Lone Ranger (2013) (English)

                                               Director  : Gore Verbinski
                                               Genre     : Adventure, Action
                                               Cast       :  Johnny Depp, Armie Hammer and William Fichtner

          'The Lone Ranger' is a 2013 released English movie directed by Gore Verbinski which is based on a radio show series of same name.He has also directed Rango, Pirates of the Caribbean series and The Ring.You might've already seen so many negative reviews about Lone Ranger in the internet.So let's check how the movie actually is,and is it really that boring or is it worth watching?.
       Movie begins with native American warrior Tonto(Johnny Depp) narrates the untold tales that transformed John Reid(Armie Hammer), a man of the law, into a legend of justice in the wildwest. That's all folks.I can't tell you more than this, or else it won't be justice to the specialty of this blog.'No Spoilers' remember?.Now let me get into the details of my review and why it got so many negative reviews in internet.
      There is one thing about America has,just like some of their movie makers some of the movie reviewers too don't know there is a world outside their house or office.This movie's shooting was plagued with production problems and budgetary concerns, which at one point led to the film's premature cancellation.Some US critics has developed a brainless tendency to write negative reviews about a movie which is not released yet just because the filming has came to a road block due to budget problems.So all those negative reviews you read in internet is written even before those @$*%*# critics saw the movie.The same happened with John Carter(2012).Let me tell you folks,this movie 'The Lone Ranger' is one of the best movie of the year and undoubtedly a computer visual effects(VFx) masterpiece.90% of what you see in the movie is computer generated and you will never realize that.Except some of the obvious ones.Johnny Depp plays the role of Tonto,the mysterious native american warrior who helps John Reid in his adventure filled journey.There are some unexpected hilarious moments which you will never forget.This was the first time Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter acted together in a movie which was not directed by Tim Burton.Movie was commercially flopped due to the'critics' i mentioned above.Since one of the reason this blog started was to introduce everyone to good movies,i can't ignore movies like this.I'm telling you this a must watch movie and don't miss it.Oh yeah, watch out for a train chase.Yeah,you read it right.Now you shouldn't miss scenes like that.

     You can buy the DVDs HERE or watch it online for free HERE.Let us know what do you think about the movie in our comment section.And don't forget to check out our new section MMR-Store on the top tab.See you next time folks.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

The Forgotten (2004) (English)

                                        Director    : Joseph Ruben.
                                        Genre       : Mystery, Drama, Sci-Fi.
                                        Cast         : Julianne Moore, Dominic West and Christopher Kovaleski.

         'The Forgotten' is a 2004 American thriller film, directed by Joseph Ruben.This movie has one of my favorite actress Juilanne Moore.To be frank that was the primary reason i watched the trailer of the movie and i must tell you the trailer is actually well made and it makes you watch the movie.So let's talk about this mysterious plot of 'The Forgotten'.
         This movie revolves around a mother who thinks that she lost her son in a plane crash some months ago, only to wake up one morning and be told that she never had a son and it was all her imaginations.But she strongly believes that she is right and she had a son.Then she meets another person who has the same issue.Soon they find out a shocking and spine chilling secret. That's all i can reveal now folks.You should watch the movie to know about it.
        Julianne Moore did an excellent job as the sad but confused mom.And this movie is special for me because of the plot and secret they find out.I love movies like this.This may not be entertaining for every one but it is definitely  worth a watch.I'd recommend this movie undoubtedly to those who love watching mysterious Sci-Fi movies.


    And don't forget to sign-up for amazon prime's FREE 30-day trial.You can watch over 40000 movies and tv shows completely FREE for a month.So what are you waiting for,click on the below banner and try it out.


Sunday, October 6, 2013

The Croods (2013) (English)

                                Directors : Kirk De Micco, Chris Sanders.
                                Genre      : Animation, Adventure, Comedy, Family.
                                Cast        : Nicolas Cage, Ryan Reynolds, Emma Stone, Catherine Keener,Clark Duke                                                       & Cloris Leachman.

       It's been a long time since I've watched a good animated movie.I couldn't catch 'The Croods' in theaters.Now since the DVDs are available,i thought i should watch the movie.So let's talk about it.'The Croods' is an american computer-animated movie released in 2013.It is directed by Kirk De Micco and Chris Sanders.The movie has a huge star cast as voice actors and most of them are popular actors in the non-animated movie world.

    The plot of the movie is set in a fictional prehistoric era known as The Croodaceous, a period which contains fantastic and beautiful creatures.After their cave is destroyed, a caveman family must trek through an unfamiliar fantastical world with the help of an inventive genius boy.You might ask questions like,'Who is he?' 'what changes he makes in their lives and relationships?' 'Where is he leading them?'.You will get all your answers once you watch the movie.

    Undoubtely it is one of the best animated movies of the year. Dreamworks has done an awesome job by creating this movie.As a voice actor Nicolas Cage does one of his best performance as a concerned dad.Emma stone or Ryan reynolds are not bad either.The Croods is a fun filled adventure ride you can enjoy with your family.Animated movies has come a long way from being 'cartoon for kids' category.Now most of the studios and production houses create these movies keeping not only kids in the ir mind but adults also.A person of any age can enjoy movies like these.In short it's one of the must watch movie and i highly recommend it.You can see the details here or here

Monday, September 16, 2013

We're the Millers (2013) (English)

                                                Director  : Rawson Marshall Thurber
                                                Genre     : Comedy, Crime
                                                Cast       :  Jason Sudeikis, Jennifer Aniston, Emma Roberts and Will Poulter

     I was waiting for a real comedy movie after the 'Hangover' series.That's when i heard about 'We're the Millers'.This is an American comedy film directed by Rawson Marshall Thurber.And it turned out as just expected.
     Now,before getting into the review,let me tell you a little about the awesome plot of this laugh riot.David Clark played by Jason Sudeikis is a veteran pot dealer.He creates a fake family as part of his plan to move a huge shipment of weed into the U.S. from Mexico.Will he succeed?? Or will they get caught??..Well, i don't want to spoil your movie watching experience and we have a tradition of 'no spoilers' in this blog.So you have to watch the movie to know what happens to them.
      I haven't watched much movies in which Jason Sudeikis acted in.But i have full confidence on Jennifer Aniston's comedy acting skills.She is too good at it.This movie is undoubtedly going to be one of the best comedy movie in recent years.It has a pinch of adult comedy moments which you may not be comfortable to watch it with your family members.It is a must watch movie and highly recommend this movie if you want to spend some time laughing.So don't miss it,watch it today and let me know if you liked it.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Now You See Me (2013) (English)

                                          Director       : Louis Leterrier
                                          Genre          : Thriller, Drama, Mystery
                                          Cast            : Jesse Eisenberg,Woody Harrelson,Isla Fisher,Dave Franco 
                                                               and Morgan Freeman.

     'Now You See Me' is a 2013 released French-American movie directed by Louis Leterrier who has directed movies like 'Clash of the Titans' (2010) and 'Transporter 2'.One of the most underrated movie of the year with a multi-star cast.Now let me get into our mini review of this awesome movie.
      'Now You See Me' tells the story of an FBI agent and an Interpol detective track a team of illusionists or magicians who pull off bank heists during their performances and reward their audiences with the money.How do they do it? For whom do they do it? Why do they do it? Or is it just an illusion to trick others?.You will get all the answers once you finish watching this movie.
     Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Isla Fisher and Dave Franco done awesome job as being mysterious and charming illusionist.Each character is safe in all these actor's hands.Supporting cast includes Morgan Freeman and Michael Caine who comes together for the fourth time after Dark Knight triology. Then there is Mark Ruffalo. All these supporting actors are some of the best in the industry and they are also responsible for making this movie a hit.And from the beginning of the movie there are some hints thrown here and there about the climax which you might miss in the blink of an eye.Watch every scene and listen every dialogue.And don't miss it.It's a must watch movie.Watch it,it will blow your mind.!

Let me know if you liked it in the comment box and let your friends know about this movie by sharing this article in your facebook,twitter or any other social network.

Sunday, August 11, 2013

The Conjuring (2013) (English)

Director : James Wan
Genre : Horror,Drama
Cast : Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Lili Taylor

       There was a time,i never watched horror movies.There were two reasons for this.Most logical and primary reason for this was,why should i waste my time by scaring myself??!!..Second reason was all the horror movies looked same to me.But after i started watching them without hesitation,i understood there are different and brilliant ones.I recently had a chance to watch one of the scariest horror movie.
    'The Conjuring' is a James Wan directed movie released in 2013.It is based on a true story,and follows paranormal investigators who come to the assistance of the Perron family, who are facing some wierd supernatural events in their farmhouse in Rhode Island in 1971.What is that 'thing' which is disturbing them?,and why is it happening?.You will understand this once you watch the movie.
    What i liked about this movie is,they will scare the **** out of you without scaring you.That is the beauty of the movie.The visual effects used in this movie is so natural that you don't even recognize that they are VFx.This is undoubtedly a must watch movie for movie lovers.But if you don't like horror movies,stay away from it.This is undoubtedly one of the best horror movie i have seen.So what are you waiting for,watch the movie today itself and let me know in the comment section if you liked it or not??

Monday, July 1, 2013

Carlito's Way (English) (1993)

Cliche pose for crime movie posters, but still looks awesome!!

Director  : Brian De Palma
Genre     : Thriller,Drama,Crime
Cast       :  Al Pacino, Sean Penn, Penelope Ann Miller and Luis Guzmán

      There are very few Crime thrillers i love which is based on Mafia Genre or Film noir. Last time i loved one was 'American Gangster'.And now Al Pacino starring 'Carlito's way '.It was released in 1993 which was directed by Brian De Palma, based on the novels 'Carlito's Way' and 'After Hours' by Judge Edwin Torres.
      It is the story of a Puerto-Rican ex-con,Carlito Brigante who is just released from prison and dreams to have a better life outside New York city by retiring from the criminal world despite the pressures which is always trying to pull him back.And he had it all figured out with a perfect retirement plan.But how will he execute it??.And will he able to do it with the love of his life??.You should watch the movie to know the full story.I don't want to ruin your movie watching experience.
    Al Pacino almost lives on the screen as Carlito Charlie Brigante for the entire movie.You will start loving this guy after seeing how genuine he is about his retiring plans.I have never seen Luis Guzmán before in a better supporting role as Pachanga. Nowadays he is just a character for humor in most of the movies.But in this film, he as well as Sean Penn did awesome job in supporting roles.This is a must watch movie people.If you loved American Gangster you will love this one too.Even if you don't like Al Pacino.This movie is also famous for it's beautiful music tracks.The song i loved most in this movie is "You Are So Beautiful" which was performed by Joe Cocker.Trust me you will love that too.Since it is a movie which you should collect you can visit flipkart and buy it from there by clicking the below button.

Monday, June 10, 2013

Born Free (1966) (English)

        Director       : James Hill
        Genre          : Adventure, Family, Drama.
        Cast            :  Virginia McKenna, Bill Travers, Geoffrey Keen and Lions.

      Born Free was a 1966 British movie,which is based on a non-fictional book by the same name and was written by Joy Adamson in 1960.From a film making point of view, it is one of the best movie i have ever seen and it is unbelievably real.And unlike Life Of Pi(where CG tiger was used), in this movie all the animals shown on screen are real.

    The movie and the book says the story of a real life British couple Joy Adamson and her husband George Adamson  who raised Elsa the Lioness, an orphaned lion cub.I have never seen an animal movie so authentically shot (other than movies about pet dogs).It's unbelievable.Some shots are really tricky and we can understand that.Even though at the first five minutes you might doubt this movie for a documentary(because of the narration at the beginning),once you are into it you are definitely going to miss Elsa when you finish watching the movie.

   All i can say is, don't miss this awesomely made British film.It's emotional,entertaining,dramatic and it's a must watch movie.I couldn't find  a better poster in internet so i have inserted the DVD cover of the movie as the poster.I have blurred the summary part so that you won't face spoilers.So what are you waiting for grab a collector's edition by clicking on the below button.

Announcement: You might see some small changes in the blog's lay out design in a couple of days and i'm thinking to get rid of  unnecessary banner ads because of two reasons.1)Most of the ads doesn't suit for the blog and it's followers like you.2)I'm not making any money out of it.
So after the change once the banner ads are gone,you will start seeing intermission ads.Main reason for this is intermission ads are virus free and family safe ads.
You just have to wait 5 to 10 seconds and skip the ad.If you also want to put these kind of ads in your blogs,feel free to click on referral banners and checkout the publishing sites.Thank you for the support and co-operating.

Friday, April 5, 2013

Law Abiding Citizen (2009) (English)

            Director  : F. Gary Gray
            Genre     : Drama,Thriller, Crime
            Cast       : Gerard Butler, Jamie Foxx, Leslie Bibb and Bruce McGill.

   If you are a non-american and if you heard about this movie,then you can consider yourself lucky.Even after being a movie lover and a regular movie viewer,i have no idea why i have never heard about this movie.Even my movie loving friends never mentioned about this one.I still can't believe a good thriller like this got skipped from our radars all these years.!!!

    'Law Abiding Citizen' is a 2009 released Hollywood movie starring Jamie Foxx and Gerald Butler.It's the story of a man who takes the law in his hands when law couldn't help him.The man not only targets his actual enemies but also the corrupt government officials.If you read the single line thread of the plot,you might think that it is the same old revenge story.But there my friend,you are mistaken.What makes this movie interesting is what happens after the 'Law' captures the person who causes problems.Will they be able to stop him??.This is one of the best movie in Gerald Butler's career.

     Internet says the movie was panned badly by critiques in US and got many negative reviews.Well,this officially confirms why a movie like Austin powers got so many fans in US.They simply don't know what a good movie is..!!.I would love to recommend this to anyone who love thriller movies.This is a must watch movie.I didn't wrote much about the movie plot because i don't wanted to ruin the fun.

Warning : Even though it is not a complete action movie,there are bloody and violent scenes in it.So be prepared for it.

Monday, March 11, 2013

Silver Linings Of Playbook (2012) (English)

                    Director  : David O. Russell
                   Genre  : Drama,Romance
                   Cast   : Bradley Cooper,Jennifer Lawrence&Robert DeNiro

  I was really not sure if i should write a review of this movie,but then the adorable Jennifer Lawrence got Oscar award for best actress for this movie.Even though some people says she got it only because there was no strong competitors this time,i think she deserves it.May be it will give a boost to her career.Anyway now this is going to be a really really small review,but then again that's why my blog's name is 'MiniMoviReviews'.*wink* *wink*..
      Silver Linings of Playbook says the story of  Pat Solitano who is just got released from a mental institution.He struggles and faces difficulties when trying to get back to his normal life, while moving back to his parents' home.Then he meets Tiffany a mysterious girl from neighborhood who tries to help him.Will she be able to really help him?..And why is she helping him??..Watch the movie to know more..
   Bradley Cooper plays the male lead in the movie and Jennifer Lawrence is Tiffany.Movie's screenplay was adapted from a book of the same name wrote by Matthew Quick.To be frank after the first 15-25 minutes the movie becomes shamelessly slow and miraculously the last 55 minutes gets really interesting and becomes the best part of the movie.Robert De Niro plays the part of Pat's father perfectly.In one sentence, it's the story of a crazy guy, who has a crazy family meets the craziest girl in town.If you really want to watch all Oscar movies,it's worth a watch. Atleast watch the last 55 minutes.Below is a video of Jennifer lawrence press meet after the Oscars which might inspire you.

* Recently I have noticed that some of the advertising banners in the page started showing in-appropriate ads which i thought may not be suitable for my visitors.I have exchanged them with normal referral ads.Sorry for the inconvenience.Thank you.

Monday, February 25, 2013

Oscar 2013-85th Oscar award goes to...(Full winners list)

Full list of 85th  Academy award winners 

Best Actress Academy Awards
 (Photo credit: cliff1066™)

  • Best Picture : Argo
  • Best Director : Ang Lee for Life Of Pi
  • Actor in a Leading Role : Daniel Day—Lewis for Lincoln
  • Actress in a Leading Role : Jennifer Lawrence for Silver Linings Playbook
  • Actor in a Supporting Role : Christoph Waltz for Django Unchained
  • Actress in a Supporting Role : Anne Hathaway for Les Miserables
  • Animated Feature Film : Brave by Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman
  • Cinematography :  Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi
  • Costume Design : Anna Karenina by Jacqueline Durran
  • Documentary Feature : Searching for Sugar Man by Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn
  • Documentary Short : Inocente by Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine
  • Film Editing : William Goldenberg for Argo
  • Foreign Language Film : Amour
  • Makeup and Hairstyling : Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell for Les Miserables
  • Music (Original Score) : Mychael Danna for Life of Pi
  • Music (Original Song) : Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth for Skyfall from Skyfall
  • Production Design Rick Carter (Production Design); Jim Erickson (Set Decoration) for Lincoln
  • Animated Short Film : John Kahrs for Paperman
  • Short Film (Live Action) : Shawn Christensen for Curfew
  • Sound Editing : Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers for Skyfall and Paul NJ Ottosson for Zero Dark Thirty
  • Sound Mixing : Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes for Les Miserables
  • Visual Effects : Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R Elliott for Life of Pi
  • Writing (Adapted Screenplay) : Chris Terrio for Argo
  • Writing (Original Screenplay) : Quentin Tarantino for Django Unchained

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Rosemary's Baby (1968) (English)

                   Director    : Roman Polanski
                  Genre        : Drama,Thriller
                  Cast          : Mia Farrow, John Cassavetes&Ruth Gordon

    'Rosemary's Baby' is a 1968 American film written and directed by Roman Polanski.It was based on a 1967 best seller novel which was of same name written by Ira Levin.This movie is placed in the wrong genre by most of the websites and movie critiques.I couldn't find much reasons to categorize this movie into the horror genre like most of the other websites.I found the story as dramatic thriller.
    Story starts when a young couple moves into their new apartment.What waits them there is the over caring neighbors.When the wife becomes mysteriously pregnant, fear over the safety of her unborn child begins to haunt her.Now even though i have told the story this much,like the tag line of the movie says "It's not what you're expecting".Trust me.
   This movie is an edge of the seat dramatic thriller till the climax.Climax might disappoint some of you but if you think about it,you will understand why it's like that.Mia Farrow as Mrs.Rosemary Woodhouse did an awesome job in this movie.Some of the scenes i liked is at the first half of the movie where she is completely innocent and tries to settle down in the new apartment another one is the famous phone booth scene.The whole movie is about Rosemary,so it's almost like a one man show.. sorry, one woman show.It has won several awards including academy award and golden globes.This is a must watch movie if you love thrillers.And since there is some complicated scenes which is a bit hard to understand for kids and plot topic itself is bit heavy for kids, I don't think this movie is suitable for minors.So what are you waiting for,if you haven't watched it yet you are missing one of the best thrillers.

Friday, January 18, 2013

Argo (2012) (English)

             Director  :   Ben Affleck
            Genre      :   Drama, History, Thriller.
            Cast       :   Ben Affleck, Bryan Cranston,Alan Arkin & John Goodman

       I saw Ben Affleck first time in a movie was 'State of play'.And to be frank i didn't noticed him.It was obvious because it was a Russel Crowe movie.And no one saw him coming.Then i watched 'The Town' last year only because i heard it was a bank robbery movie.Once i watched the movie,i was very much impressed and was surprised to know the movie was directed by none other than the lead actor Ben Affleck.Now comes 'Argo' the surprise winner of the year.
      The movie is a dramatization of the 1980 joint CIA-Canadian secret operation to extract six fugitive American diplomatic personnel out of revolutionary Iran.The CIA agent Tony Mendez made a rescue plan which was never tried before.His plan was to create a fake film crew and use it as a cover to bring the hostages back.For that he has to start from the scratch.He even hired an Oscar winner make-up artist!. 'Argo' is brilliantly written and directed with small bits of cinematic modifications on the real story.Brad Pitt was first cast as the CIA agent,but he couldn't do it because of other projects.Then Ben Affleck himself had to do it.And it has turned out as one of the biggest movie of the year.
   The movie won awards for 'best motion picture' and 'best director' in Critic's choice awards and Golden globe awards.So sad it is not nominated for Oscars.Otherwise it would've been a sure shot winner.So movie lovers,it's a must watch movie and don't miss it.

Monday, January 14, 2013

Golden Globe Awards 2013-Winners List

Best Motion Picture - Drama
WINNER: "Argo"
» "Django Unchained"
» "Life of Pi"
» "Lincoln"
» "Zero Dark Thirty"

Best Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy
WINNER: "Les Miserables"
» "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel"
» "Moonrise Kingdom"
» "Salmon Fishing in the Yemen"
» "Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama
WINNER: Daniel Day-Lewis - "Lincoln"
» Richard Gere - "Arbitrage"
» John Hawkes - "The Sessions"
» Joaquin Phoenix - "The Master"
» Denzel Washington - "Flight"

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama
WINNER: Jessica Chastain - "Zero Dark Thirty"
» Marion Cotillard - "Rust and Bone"
» Helen Mirren - "Hitchcock"
» Naomi Watts - "The Impossible"
» Rachel Weisz - "The Deep Blue Sea"

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy
WINNER: Hugh Jackman - "Les Miserables"
» Jack Black - "Bernie"
» Bradley Cooper - "Silver Linings Playbook"
» Ewan McGregor - "Salmon Fishing in the Yemen"
» Bill Murray - "Hyde Park on Hudson"

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy
WINNER: Jennifer Lawrence - "Silver Linings Playbook"
» Maggie Smith - "Quarter"
» Emily Blunt - "Salmon Fishing in the Yemen"
» Judi Dench - "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel"
» Meryl Streep - "Hope Springs"

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
WINNER: Christoph Waltz - "Django Unchained"
» Alan Arkin - "Argo"
» Leonardo DiCaprio - "Django Unchained"
» Philip Seymour Hoffman - "The Master"
» Tommy Lee Jones - "Lincoln"

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
WINNER: Anne Hathaway - "Les Miserables"
» Amy Adams - "The Master"
» Sally Field - "Lincoln"
» Helen Hunt - "The Sessions"
» Nicole Kidman - "The Paperboy"

Best Director - Motion Picture
WINNER: Ben Affleck - "Argo"
» Kathryn Bigelow - "Zero Dark Thirty"
» Ang Lee - "Life of Pi"
» Steven Spielberg - "Lincoln"
» Quentin Tarantino - "Django Unchained"

Best Screenplay - Motion Picture
WINNER: Quentin Tarantino - "Django Unchained"
» Mark Boal - "Zero Dark Thirty"
» Tony Kushner - "Lincoln"
» David O. Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"
» Chris Terrio - "Argo"

Best Original Song - Motion Picture
WINNER: "Skyfall" - "Skyfall"
» "For You" - "Act of Valor"
» "Not Running Anymore" - "Stand Up Guys"
» "Safe and Sound" - "The Hunger Games"
» "Suddenly" - "Les Miserables"

Best Original Score - Motion Picture
WINNER: "Life of Pi"
» "Argo"
» "Anna Karenina"
» "Cloud Atlas"
» "Lincoln"

Best Animated Film
WINNER: "Brave"
» "Frankenweenie"
» "Hotel Transylvania"
» "Rise of Guardians"
» "Wreck-It Ralph"

Best Foreign Language Film
WINNER: "Amour"
» "A Royal Affair"
» "The Intouchables"
» "Kon-Tiki"
» "Rust and Bone"

Thursday, January 10, 2013

85th Oscar/Academy Award Nominees are...

Oscar Nominees

Actor in a Leading Role

  • Bradley Cooper in "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Daniel Day-Lewis in "Lincoln"
  • Hugh Jackman in "Les Misérables"
  • Joaquin Phoenix in "The Master"
  • Denzel Washington in "Flight"

Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Alan Arkin in "Argo"
  • Robert De Niro in "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman in "The Master"
  • Tommy Lee Jones in "Lincoln"
  • Christoph Waltz in "Django Unchained"

Actress in a Leading Role

  • Jessica Chastain in "Zero Dark Thirty"
  • Jennifer Lawrence in "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Emmanuelle Riva in "Amour"
  • Quvenzhané Wallis in "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
  • Naomi Watts in "The Impossible"

Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Amy Adams in "The Master"
  • Sally Field in "Lincoln"
  • Anne Hathaway in "Les Misérables"
  • Helen Hunt in "The Sessions"
  • Jacki Weaver in "Silver Linings Playbook"

Animated Feature Film

  • "Brave" Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman
  • "Frankenweenie" Tim Burton
  • "ParaNorman" Sam Fell and Chris Butler
  • "The Pirates! Band of Misfits" Peter Lord
  • "Wreck-It Ralph" Rich Moore


  • "Anna Karenina" Seamus McGarvey
  • "Django Unchained" Robert Richardson
  • "Life of Pi" Claudio Miranda
  • "Lincoln" Janusz Kaminski
  • "Skyfall" Roger Deakins

Costume Design

  • "Anna Karenina" Jacqueline Durran
  • "Les Misérables" Paco Delgado
  • "Lincoln" Joanna Johnston
  • "Mirror Mirror" Eiko Ishioka
  • "Snow White and the Huntsman" Colleen Atwood


  • "Amour" Michael Haneke
  • "Beasts of the Southern Wild" Benh Zeitlin
  • "Life of Pi" Ang Lee
  • "Lincoln" Steven Spielberg
  • "Silver Linings Playbook" David O. Russell

Documentary Feature

  • "5 Broken Cameras"
    Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi
  • "The Gatekeepers"
    Nominees to be determined
  • "How to Survive a Plague"
    Nominees to be determined
  • "The Invisible War"
    Nominees to be determined
  • "Searching for Sugar Man"
    Nominees to be determined

Documentary Short Subject

  • "Inocente"
    Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine
  • "Kings Point"
    Sari Gilman and Jedd Wider
  • "Mondays at Racine"
    Cynthia Wade and Robin Honan
  • "Open Heart"
    Kief Davidson and Cori Shepherd Stern
  • "Redemption"
    Jon Alpert and Matthew O'Neill

Film Editing

  • "Argo" William Goldenberg
  • "Life of Pi" Tim Squyres
  • "Lincoln" Michael Kahn
  • "Silver Linings Playbook" Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
  • "Zero Dark Thirty" Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg

Foreign Language Film

  • "Amour" Austria
  • "Kon-Tiki" Norway
  • "No" Chile
  • "A Royal Affair" Denmark
  • "War Witch" Canada

Makeup and Hairstyling

  • "Hitchcock"
    Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
  • "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey"
    Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane
  • "Les Misérables"
    Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell

Music (Original Score)

  • "Anna Karenina" Dario Marianelli
  • "Argo" Alexandre Desplat
  • "Life of Pi" Mychael Danna
  • "Lincoln" John Williams
  • "Skyfall" Thomas Newman

Music (Original Song)

  • "Before My Time" from "Chasing Ice"
    Music and Lyric by J. Ralph
  • "Everybody Needs A Best Friend" from "Ted"
    Music by Walter Murphy; Lyric by Seth MacFarlane
  • "Pi's Lullaby" from "Life of Pi"
    Music by Mychael Danna; Lyric by Bombay Jayashri
  • "Skyfall" from "Skyfall"
    Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth
  • "Suddenly" from "Les Misérables"
    Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg; Lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil

Best Picture

  • "Amour" Nominees to be determined
  • "Argo" Grant Heslov, Ben Affleck and George Clooney, Producers
  • "Beasts of the Southern Wild" Dan Janvey, Josh Penn and Michael Gottwald, Producers
  • "Django Unchained" Stacey Sher, Reginald Hudlin and Pilar Savone, Producers
  • "Les Misérables" Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward and Cameron Mackintosh, Producers
  • "Life of Pi" Gil Netter, Ang Lee and David Womark, Producers
  • "Lincoln" Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy, Producers
  • "Silver Linings Playbook" Donna Gigliotti, Bruce Cohen and Jonathan Gordon, Producers
  • "Zero Dark Thirty" Mark Boal, Kathryn Bigelow and Megan Ellison, Producers

Production Design

  • "Anna Karenina"
    Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey"
    Production Design: Dan Hennah; Set Decoration: Ra Vincent and Simon Bright
  • "Les Misérables"
    Production Design: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Anna Lynch-Robinson
  • "Life of Pi"
    Production Design: David Gropman; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
  • "Lincoln"
    Production Design: Rick Carter; Set Decoration: Jim Erickson

Short Film (Animated)

  • "Adam and Dog" Minkyu Lee
  • "Fresh Guacamole" PES
  • "Head over Heels" Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O'Reilly
  • "Maggie Simpson in "The Longest Daycare"" David Silverman
  • "Paperman" John Kahrs

Short Film (Live Action)

  • "Asad" Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura
  • "Buzkashi Boys" Sam French and Ariel Nasr
  • "Curfew" Shawn Christensen
  • "Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)" Tom Van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele
  • "Henry" Yan England

Sound Editing

  • "Argo" Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn
  • "Django Unchained" Wylie Stateman
  • "Life of Pi" Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton
  • "Skyfall" Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers
  • "Zero Dark Thirty" Paul N.J. Ottosson

Sound Mixing

  • "Argo"
    John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
  • "Les Misérables"
    Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes
  • "Life of Pi"
    Ron Bartlett, D.M. Hemphill and Drew Kunin
  • "Lincoln"
    Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ronald Judkins
  • "Skyfall"
    Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson

Visual Effects

  • "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey"
    Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
  • "Life of Pi"
    Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott
  • "Marvel's The Avengers"
    Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick
  • "Prometheus"
    Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill
  • "Snow White and the Huntsman"
    Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

  • "Argo" Screenplay by Chris Terrio
  • "Beasts of the Southern Wild" Screenplay by Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin
  • "Life of Pi" Screenplay by David Magee
  • "Lincoln" Screenplay by Tony Kushner
  • "Silver Linings Playbook" Screenplay by David O. Russell

Writing (Original Screenplay)

  • "Amour" Written by Michael Haneke
  • "Django Unchained" Written by Quentin Tarantino
  • "Flight" Written by John Gatins
  • "Moonrise Kingdom" Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
  • "Zero Dark Thirty" Written by Mark Boal

Please visit http://mediasoftworld.blogspot.com for more movie and movie news

Saturday, January 5, 2013

Kon-Tiki (2012) (Norwegian,English)

        Directors: Joachim Rønning, Espen Sandberg
        Genre : Adventure,Action,Biography
        Cast :  Pål Sverre V. Hagen, Anders B. Christiansen & Gustaf Skarsgård 

     'Kon-Tiki' is a Norwegian movie based on a real life incident known as '1947 Kon-Tiki expedition'.The film is selected as Norway's official entry for 85th Academy awards in 'Best foreign language movie' category.It was also nominated for 70th Golden Globe awards in the same category.
       Movie tells the story of legendary explorer Thor Heyerdal who decides to travel 4300 Miles across the Pacific ocean on a Balsa wood raft in 1947 just to prove his theory--South Americans traveled to Polynesia in pre-colombian times to settle there--with some of his adventurous friends.
   Movie might remind you of 'Life of Pi' only because this movie also contains an adventurous sea voyage.If you have read or heard the story of Kon-Tiki before you will love this movie.Movie is in Norwegian language mainly.But in some places it has English dialogues too.It is a must watch movie and if you need English subtitles for 'Kon-Tiki',just post your e-mail address on the comment section and i can mail it to you.It is one of the best foreign movie i have seen.It has some quality visual effects and it's treat to watch if you are someone who love to travel.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...